The Tennis League was formed in 1961 and was the suggestion of Gordon Budgell and David Fidler of Westinghouse Tennis Club who asked representatives of Clubs in the Chippenham area to a meeting in January 1961 at the Westinghouse Works.

A committee was formed with Mike Butler (Chippenham Town) as Chairman, Gordon Budgell (Westinghouse) as Secretary and David Fidler (Westinghouse) as Match Secretary, plus representatives of several Clubs. The first committee meeting was held on 1st March 1961. There were 8 Clubs who competed in the inaugural season, entering a total of 19 teams. The founder Clubs were Avon, Chippenham Town, Devizes, Westinghouse, Chippenham Park, Corsham, Spencers and Harris (CaIne). There were Mens, Ladies and Mixed sections and matches were played from the end of April until the end of July. The first AGM with presentation of section winner's certificates was held on 20th October 1961.

Mike Butler later left the area, presenting a cup for the winners of the Mens section, Gordon Budgell move to the Luton area and David Fidler continued as Match Secretary until the 1970' s when he went to work at Basingstoke.

The league continued to flourish. In 1998 it reached a milestone of 100 teams being entered across the 3 Championships of Mens, Ladies and Mixed and now stands at 26 Clubs entering 116 teams.

In 1970 the Knockout Handicap Cup was instigated 9 clubs contesting the inaugural season's competition, entering a total of 12 teams, with Avon proving the eventual winners. The founder Clubs were Avon, Westbourne, Avonfield, Chippenham Park, Bath Spa, Southdown, Civil Service, Lyneham and Westinghouse. In 1999 a Plate competition event was instigated for first round losers, the inaugural event winners being Bloomfield. The Knockout Cup continues to flourish with a record number of 21 Clubs entering a record total of 31 teams.






Rolls of Honour

League Rules

Tennis Code

Chairmans Report



Winter League

Historic Records